Former Governors-General since 1901

  Term of office Governor-General Place of birth
26. 2014 - 2019 Cosgrove, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter AK MC (Retd) Sydney, NSW
25. 2008 - 2014 Bryce, The Honourable Dame Quentin AD CVO Ilfracombe, QLD
24. 2003 - 2008 Jeffery, Major General the Honourable Michael, AC, AO (Mil), CVO, MC (Retd) Wiluna, WA
23. 2001 - 2003 Hollingworth, Right Reverend the Honourable Dr Peter, AC OBE Adelaide, SA
22. 1996 - 2001 Deane, The Honourable Sir William Patrick, AC, KBE Melbourne, VIC
21. 1989 - 1996 Hayden, The Honourable William George, AC Brisbane, QLD
20. 1982 - 1989 Stephen, Rt Hon. Sir Ninian, KG, AK, GCMG, GCVO, KBE, QC Oxford, England, UK
19. 1977 - 1982 Cowen, Rt Hon. Sir Zelman, AK, GCMG, GCVO, QC Melbourne, VIC
18. 1974 - 1977 Kerr, Rt Hon. Sir John Robert, AK, GCMG, GCVO, QC Sydney, NSW
17. 1969 - 1974 Hasluck, Rt Hon Sir Paul Meernaa Caedwalla, KG, GCMG, GCVO Fremantle, WA
16. 1965 - 1969 Casey, Rt Hon Richard Gardiner, Baron Casey, KG, GCMG, CH, DSO, MC, PC (ADB Online, W. J. Hudson) Brisbane, QLD
15. 1961 - 1965 De L'Isle, Rt Hon William Philip Sidney, lst Viscount De L'Isle, VC, KG, GCMG, GCVO, PC London, England, UK
14. 1960 - 1961 Morrison, Rt Hon William Shepherd, 1st Viscount Dunrossil, GCMG, MC, QC, PC (ADB Online, David I. Smith) Argyll, Scotland, UK
13. 1953 - 1960 Slim, Field Marshal Sir William Joseph, 1st Viscount Slim (Yarralumla and Bishopston), KG, GCB, GCMG, GCVO, GBE, DSO, MC (ADB Online, Michael D. de B. Collins Persse) Bristol, England, UK
12. 1947 - 1953 McKell, Rt Hon Sir William John, GCMG, PC (ADB Online, Chris Cunneen) Pambula, NSW
11. 1945 - 1947 Henry, Duke of Gloucester, HRH Prince Henry William Frederick Albert, Earl of Ulster and Baron Culloden, KG, KT, KP, GCB, GCMG, GCVO (ADB Online, Chris Cunneen) Sandringham, England, UK
10. 1936 - 1945 Hore-Ruthven, Brigadier General the Rt Hon Alexander Gore Arkwright, lst Baron Gowrie, VC, GCMG, CB, DSO, PC (ADB Online, Deirdre Morris, Chris Cunneen) Windsor, England, UK
9. 1931 - 1936 Isaacs, Rt Hon Sir Isaac Alfred, GCB, GCMG, PC (ADB Online, Zelman Cowen) Melbourne, VIC
8. 1925 - 1931 Baird, Rt Hon John Lawrence, 1st Baron Stonehaven, GCMG, DSO, PC, JP, DL (ADB Online, Chris Cunneen) London, England, UK
7. 1920 - 1925 Forster, Rt Hon Henry William, lst Baron Forster, GCMG, PC, DL (ADB Online, Chris Cunneen) Kent, England, UK
6. 1914 - 1920 Munro-Ferguson, Rt Hon Sir Ronald Craufurd, GCMG, PC (ADB Online, J. R. Poynter) Fife, Scotland, UK
5. 1911 - 1914 Denman, Rt Hon Thomas, 3rd Baron Denman, GCMG, KCVO, PC, JP (ADB Online, Chris Cunneen) London, England, UK
4. 1908 - 1911 Ward, Rt Hon William Humble, 2nd Earl of Dudley, GCB, GCMG, GCVO, TD, PC (ADB Online, Chris Cunneen) London, England, UK
3. 1904 - 1908 Northcote, Rt Hon Henry Stafford, 1st Baron Northcote, GCMG, GCIE, CB, PC (ADB Online, Chris Cunneen) London, England, UK
2. 1903 - 1904 Tennyson, Rt Hon Hallam, 2nd Baron Tennyson, GCMG, PC (ADB Online, Roma D. Hodgkinson) Twickenham, England, UK
1. 1901 - 1903 Hope, Rt Hon John Adrian Louis, 7th Earl of Hopetoun, KT, GCMG, GCVO, PC (ADB Online, Chris Cunneen) Hopetoun, Scotland, UK